NRL Judiciary Wrap - 2017 Round 24

Embed from Getty Images

A look at the players charged with offences during Round 24 of the NRL.

On Friday, Parramatta's Manu Ma'u was with a Grade 1 Shoulder Charge offence after a 32nd minute incident involving Ash Taylor in Thursday's win over the Gold Coast. He will miss one match with the early plea (150pts), but risks missing both the Eels' remaining regular season matches should he challenge the charge at the judiciary unsuccessfully (200pts).

Four players were charged from Saturday's NRL matches. None are facing suspension, with two issued fines.

Wests Tigers' winger David Nofoaluma's Grade 1 Dangerous Contact charge arose from a 23rd minute tackle on Roosters' Ryan Matterson. An early plea (75pts) sees him escape suspension although he could miss a week with an unsuccessful challenge (100pts). The same applies to the Roosters' Jared Waerea-Hargreaves from a 46th minute Grade 1 Dangerous Contact - Head/Neck from a tackle involving Tuimoala Lolohea.

The two fines were issued to Cronulla pair Wade Graham and James Maloney. Graham's 28th minute Grade 1 Careless High Tackle on Michael Morgan carries a base fine of $1,500 although with 2 prior offences that goes up to $2,550, but can be reduced to $1,900 with an early plea. For Maloney, his 72nd minute Grade 1 Trip on Ethan Lowe has lost him $1,350 (early plea) after the base fine increased from $1,500 to $1,800 due to his one prior offence.

On Sunday just one player was issued a charge by the Match Review Committee, Canterbury's Brett Morris pinged for a seventh minute lifting tackle on Manly's Brian Kelly. The Grade 1 Dangerous Throw carries a penalty of only 100 base points, but with Morris's good record he receives a 25% discount, only accruing 75 points - or 50 if he takes the early plea.

Respective clubs on Monday morning confirmed that Ma'u (Eels), Nofoaluma (Tigers), Graham & Maloney (Sharks) have all accepted the early plea. Ma'u misses on match while the others are free to play in Round 25.

Pleas for Waerea-Hargreaves and Brett Morris are still to be confirmed.