2019 NRL season to open in Melbourne

Embed from Getty Images

The Melbourne Storm will open the 2019 NRL Premiership when they host Brisbane at AAMI Park in Round 1 of next season's competition.

This evening the Daily Telegraph revealed the schedule for the first weekend of action and there are several key blockbusters coming up.

After the Storm and Broncos get things underway on Thursday 14 March in the Victorian capital, the Knights and Sharks face off in Newcastle in the Friday 6pm timeslot before traditional rivals the Roosters and Rabbitohs go head-to-head at the historic SCG in the primetime match straight after.

Super Saturday kicks off in Auckland with a 6pm local kickoff for the Warriors as they host Canterbury at Mt Smart Stadium (4pm AEDT). Following will be a 6pm AEDT showdown between Wests Tigers and Manly at Campbelltown, with the evening wrapping in Townsville where North Queensland host St George Illawarra at 8pm AEDT (7pm local time).

The western derby between Penrith and Parramatta takes centre stage on Sunday afternoon in the 4pm free-to-air match at Panthers Stadium, the round coming to a close on Sunday evening on the Gold Coast, with the Titans and Raiders the last two clubs to play at 6:30pm AEDT.

The full fixture is set to be revealed along with a new premiership logo later this week.