Cowboys v Bulldogs preview

Embed from Getty Images
North Queensland Cowboys v Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs Thursday 7:50pm at 1300SMILES Stadium

Cowboys look to farewell 1300SMILES on a high

The North Queensland Cowboys will look to finish the 1300SMILES Stadium era with a win when they host the in-form Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs on Thursday evening.

Facing off against the Bulldogs in their first premiership match at the Townsville venue back in 1995, the North Queensland Cowboys will be eager to give their beloved home ground a fitting send off before taking up residence at the brand new North Queensland Stadium next season.

Breaking a run of five losses to down Penrith 24-10 last Friday, coach Paul Green will be hoping to continue his strong record against the blue and whites having won five of seven meetings during his tenure.

Opting to stick solid with the team that downed the Panthers last week, halfback Jake Clifford may be a late inclusion, while in honour of legendary front rower Matt Scott, the club will retire his number eight jersey as a sign of respect for the 2015 premiership winning co-captain.

Chasing five consecutive wins for the first time in four years, the Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs will be eager to continue their resurgence as they eye off an unlikely top eight finish.

Needing a host of results to fall in their favour after a dismal opening to 2019 that saw the side manage just three wins over the first 14 rounds, the Bulldogs have developed into one of the form teams of the competition to sit three points outside the top eight following six wins from their past eight matches.

Holding a dominant record in Townsville with 13 wins from 18 appearances dating back to the mid-90s, coach Dean Pay will be quietly confident having coached back-to-back wins over the Cowboys during his tenure.

Losing leading try-scorer Reimis Smith with a one-match ban for leading with the head in last week's 12-6 win over Parramatta, impressive rookie Jayden Okunbor will make his first appearance since May in an otherwise unchanged side.

Last meeting: Round 7 2019 - Bulldogs 24 Cowboys 12

Who to watch: In a year that has provided North Queensland with little to celebrate, the development of John Asiata has been a rare shining light. Enjoying a career best campaign by establishing a reputation as a big man with the skills of a playmaker, the 26-year-old Tongan international has stood up to provide the Cowboys with a much-needed attacking spark following the retirement of Johnathan Thurston. Contracted to the club until the end of next season, look for Asiata to cause the Bulldogs plenty of headaches as he strives to finish the year on a high note.

Making the most of his time in the top grade after spending much of 2019 languishing in Canterbury Cup NSW, Renouf To'omaga has shown plenty of promise in seven appearances this season. Featuring exclusively off the bench after playing a prominent role in the club's reserve grade success last year, the 24-year-old Porirua junior has averaged modest stats in just over a quarter of game time over the past two months. Contracted to the Bulldogs for another season, look for To'omaga to make a big impact on Thursday night as he presses his case for a regular place in Dean Pay's 2020 squad.

The favourite: Sending off the ground that has produced so many memorable moments over the years, the Cowboys are expected to stand up and deliver in their final home match.

My tip: Having spoiled the Cowboys first match in Townsville with a 32-16 win more than two decades ago, look for the Bulldogs to produce a similar result on Thursday night to set up a final round clash with huge ramifications for the top eight. Bulldogs by 4.

1. Scott Drinkwater 2. Kyle Feldt 3. Jordan Kahu 4. Tom Opacic 5. Murray Taulagi 6. John Asiata 7. Michael Morgan 16. Scott Bolton 9. Jake Granville 10. Jordan McLean 11. Gavin Cooper 12. Shane Wright 13. Jason Taumalolo 14. Reuben Cotter 15. Coen Hess 17. Francis Molo 18. Peter Hola

1. Dallin Watene-Zelezniak 2. Nick Meaney 3. Kerrod Holland 4. Will Hopoate 5. Jayden Okunbor 6. Kieran Foran 7. Lachlan Lewis 8. Aiden Tolman 9. Jeremy Marshall-King 10. Dylan Napa 11. Josh Jackson 12. Corey Harawira-Naera 13. Adam Elliott 14. Jack Cogger 15. Renouf To'omaga 16. Raymond Faitala-Mariner 17. Chris Smith

Referees: Chris Sutton, Belinda Sharpe; Sideline Officials: Michael Wise, Nick Morel; Video Referees: Henry Perenara, Ben Lowe;

Follow all the action LIVE in our Match Centre