Tom Trbojevic claims 2021 Dally M Medal

Embed from Getty Images

Manly-Warringah fullback Tom Trbojevic has been crowned the 2021 Dally M Medal winner, claiming the prestigious award with a round remaining in tonight's medal count.

Also named fullback of the year, Trbojevic played just 15 games this season and beat a field of absolute stars to be named season's best, including Penrith half Nathan Cleary and Rabbitohs five-eighth Cody Walker, who formed the halves pairing of the year.

Check out below our live coverage of the night including all the award winners and the Team of the Year.

LIVE action

All times AEST

8:45pm It's no surprise - Tom Trbojevic has been crowed Dally M Medallist for 2021.

8:42pm The Team of the Year has been named - check it out down the page.

8:35pm New leaderboard after Round 23: Trbojevic 29, Cleary 27, Walker 24, Tedesco 22, DCE 21

8:33pm Back to the Champions Cabinet and we're looking over Round 23. Trbojevic doesn't play this round.

8:30pm We're in an ad-break, but the outro from that last segment suggests we're gonna have a winner crowned by the end of Round 23, together with the NRL Team of the Year.

8:25pm Coach of the Year is Melbourne's Craig Bellamy.

8:20pm Turbo blitzing the field. New leaderboard after Round 22:
Trbojevic 29, Walker & Cleary 24, DCE & RTS 21, Doueihi & Hughes 20, Tedesco 19

8:15pm Round 22 in the spotlight now with the Champions Cabinet.

8:07pm We now look back over those who we've lost in the past year, finishing with the legendary Tommy Raudonikis. Vale.

8:05pm Captain of the Year is presented - winner James Tedesco from the Roosters.

8:02pm Round 21 votes in. New top five is:
Trbojevic 26, Cleary 24, Walker 21, DCE 19, Tedesco 16

8:00pm A cheeky ad break from Fox and now after a quick tip of the hat to the Women's game (no awards this year given no NRLW), we're back to the Champions Cabinet to review Round 21.

7:53pm Rookie of the Year time. Sam Walker from the Roosters claims the Peter Moore Award.

7:50pm The Round 20 votes are in. The new top five is:
Trbojevic 26, Cleary 24, RTS 21, DCE 19, Walker 18

7:45pm Pleasantries and an interview with potential winner Nathan Cleary are done. We head to the Fox League studio in Sydney for the "Champions Cabinet", anchored by Lara Pitt, with Michael Ennis, Greg Alexander and Cooper Cronk, who are reviewing the play in each Round. They're currently talking about Round 20.

7:35pm Over to NRL CEO Andrew Abdo for opening remarks.

7:30pm We're underway. The Provan Summons Medal was given to start - won by Roosters centre Josh Morris for his selfless act helping brother Brett off after his season-ending injury in Newcastle earlier this year. The Peter Frilingos 'Headline Moment' is the Storm's for their 19 straight wins.

1pm: It all kicks off at 7:30pm tonight. It's being broadcast on Fox League and Kayo Sports.

The leaderboard when voting went behind closed doors in Round 19 is below. The NRL has confirmed the five players in bold are the finalists:

24: Nathan Cleary (Panthers)
23: Tom Trbojevic (Sea Eagles)

21: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Warriors)
18: Ben Hunt (Dragons)
17: Cody Walker (Rabbitohs), Daly Cherry-Evans (Sea Eagles), James Fisher-Harris (Panthers), Jahrome Hughes (Storm)
16: Clint Gutherson (Eels)
15: James Tedesco (Roosters)

The nominees for Coach of the Year were confirmed as well:

  • Craig Bellamy (Storm)
  • Ivan Cleary (Panthers)
  • Wayne Bennett (Rabbitohs)
  • Trent Robinson (Roosters)
  • Des Hasler (Sea Eagles)

A number of lesser awards were given out last Monday in a pre-event on Fox League:

  • Ken Irvine Medal (Top Try Scorer): Alex Johnston (Rabbitohs)
  • Top Points Scorer: Reuben Garrick (Sea Eagles)
  • YOUI Tackle of the Year: Xavier Coates (Broncos)
  • DrinkWise Try of the Year: Tom Trbojevic (Sea Eagles)
  • VB Hardest Working Player of the Year: Isaiah Papali'i (Parramatta Eels)

Check back tonight as it all gets underway!

Awards & nominees list

2021 Dally M NRL Player of the Year - Tom Trbojevic (Sea Eagles)
Nominees: Nathan Cleary, Tom Trbojevic, Cody Walker, Daly Cherry-Evans, James Tedesco

Peter Moore Award (Rookie of the Year) - Sam Walker (Roosters)

Captain of the Year - James Tedesco (Roosters)
Nominees: Jesse Bromwich & Dale Finucane (Storm), Nathan Cleary & Isaah Yeo (Panthers), James Tedesco (Roosters), Adam Reynolds (Rabbitohs), Daly Cherry-Evans (Sea Eagles)

Coach of the Year - Craig Bellamy (Storm)
Nominees: Craig Bellamy, Ivan Cleary, Wayne Bennett, Trent Robinson, Des Hasler

Provan Summons Medal (Spirit of the Game) - Josh Morris (Roosters)

Peter Frilingos Award for Headline Moment - Melbourne Storm: 19 straight wins.

Top Pointscorer - Reuben Garrick (Sea Eagles)

Ken Irvine Award for Top Tryscorer - Alex Johnston

Team of the Year

Fullback: Tom Trbojevic (Sea Eagles)
Nominees: James Tedesco, Kalyn Ponga, Will Kennedy, Tom Trbojevic, Ryan Papenhuyzen

Wingers: Reuben Garrick (Sea Eagles), Brian To'o (Panthers)
Nominees: Reuben Garrick, Josh Addo-Carr, Brian To'o, Jason Saab, Alex Johnston

Centres: Matt Burton (Panthers), Justin Olam (Storm)
Nominees: Matt Burton, Joseph Manu, Bradman Best, Justin Olam, Dane Gagai

Five-Eighth: Cody Walker (Rabbitohs)
Nominees: Adam Doueihi, Cameron Munster, Cody Walker, Jarome Luai

Halfback: Nathan Cleary (Panthers)
Nominees: Jahrome Hughes, Daly Cherry-Evans, Adam Reynolds, Nathan Cleary

Props: James Fisher-Harris (Panthers), Payne Haas (Broncos)
Nominees: Daniel Saifiti, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, James Fisher-Harris, Payne Haas, Christian Welch

Hooker: Brandon Smith (Storm)
Nominees: Api Koroisau, Brandon Smith, Harry Grant, Damien Cook

Second Rowers: Viliame Kikau (Panthers), Isaiah Papali'i (Eels)
Nominees: Haumole Olakau'atu, Viliame Kikau, Sitili Tupouniua, Isaiah Papali'i

Lock: Isaah Yeo (Panthers)
Nominees: Cameron Murray, Isaah Yeo, Dale Finucane, Jake Trbojevic