DALLY M AWARDS: Nicho Hynes and Raecene McGregor crowned game's best

Embed from Getty Images

Check out our live coverage of the the Dally M Awards on Wednesday night, 28 September, including all the award winners and the Team of the Year as they're announced.

LIVE action

All times AEST

9:22pm Into Round 23 and Hynes polled 3 points in back-to-back games, meaning he is far enough ahead with two rounds left to claim the medal. Nicho Hynes wins the 2022 Dally M Medal - NRL Player of the Year.

9:20pm Back into the count for the men's now. Round 22 incoming...

9:17pm The Dally M NRLW Player of the Year is Raecene McGregor. She skipped ahead to 9 points after Round 4, with only Tamika Upton within striking distance... and Upton didn't play Rounds 4 or 5. Congratulations Raecene!

9:15pm The teams of the year are in! Get the full lists below!

9:05pm The NRLW count continues into Round 3, after which Tamika Upton and Raecene McGregor share the lead on 6 votes, with Tarryn Aiken close behind on 5. Sam Bremner and Isabelle Kelly are on 4.

9:00pm We push to Round 19, with Hynes and Hunt keeping themselves well clear of the pack on 26 and 25 votes respectively. Tedesco and Edwards are next in line (Cleary too, but his suspension looming rules him out). Coaches of the year follow - John Strange (Roosters, NRLW) and Todd Payten (Cowboys, NRL) claim the spoils.

8:45pm Isaah Yeo (Panthers) is the captain of the year, with the Roosters' Isabelle Kelly taking out the corresponding NRLW award. Following this, it's the In Memoriam tribute, as we remember those we've lost in the last twelve months. Giants of the game Norm Provan, Johnny Raper and Paul Green headline an emotional moment at the event.

8:35pm Nicho Hynes wins the Provan Summons Medal - Spirit of the Game. He has used his platform to speak more openly about mental health. NRLW's Provan Summons Medal winner is Toni Hunt from the Broncos.

8:30pm We jump forward to Round 17 of the count, with Hynes pulling ahead of Hunt.

8:25pm NRLW count commences, with Southwell, Isabelle Kelly and reigning Dally M winner Emma Tonegato all polling 3 votes in the opening round.

8:20pm Right into it. The count advances to Round 15 with Hunt retaining first on 22 points, Hynes 21, Yeo 17, Edwards 16. Rookie of the Year awards are given out - Jesse Southwell for NRLW and Jeremiah Nanai for the NRL.

8:00pm We're underway! A Welcome to Country, followed by an acknowledgement from Shaniah Power and Ali Brigginshaw. Host Yvonne Sampson then introduces the evening - before turning over to Andrew Abdo, NRL CEO.

7:45pm: A series of other awards have been given out ahead of the broadcast proper:

  • NRL Try of the Year: Murray Taulagi (Cowboys, R10 v Wests Tigers)
  • NRLW Try of the Year: Tarryn Aiken (Broncos, R2 v Roosters)
  • NRL Tackle of the Year: Mitch Moses (Eels, R25 v Storm)
  • NRLW Tackle of the Year: Tarryn Aiken (Broncos, R2 v Roosters)

7:25pm: The NRL360 panel announced the Peter Frilingos Headline Moment award - two moments nabbing honours - Queensland's Origin series win and the Jada Taylor solo try in U19 Women's Origin.

7:15pm: The community player of the year nominees were announced prior to the broadcast. The NRL Men's Ken Stephens Medal nominees are Cody Walker (Rabbitohs), Nicho Hynes (Sharks), Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow (Cowboys) and Angus Crichton (Roosters). The Veronica White Medal nominees are Steph Hancock (Titans), Millie Boyle (Knights) and Kennedy Cherrington (Eels). Both awards will be announced on Grand Final Day this Sunday.

6pm: It all kicks off at 7:30pm tonight. It's being broadcast on Fox League and Kayo Sports.

The leaderboard when voting went behind closed doors in Round 12 is below:

Ben Hunt 19
Isaah Yeo 17
Nicho Hynes 16
Mitchell Moses 15
Ryan Papenhuyzen 15
James Tedesco 14
Daly Cherry-Evans 13
Dylan Edwards 13
Cameron Munster 12
Adam Reynolds 11

Awards & nominees list

2022 Dally M NRL Player of the Year - Nicho Hynes (Sharks)

2022 Dally M NRLW Player of the Year - Raecene McGregor (Roosters)

Peter Moore Award (Rookie of the Year) - Jeremiah Nanai (Cowboys)
Nominees: Taylan May, Jacob Kiraz, Jeremiah Nanai, Lachlan Ilias

NRLW Rookie of the Year: Jesse Southwell (Knights)

Captain of the Year - Isaah Yeo (Panthers)
Nominees: Ben Hunt, James Tedesco, Isaah Yeo, Chad Townsend

NRLW Captain of the Year: Isabelle Kelly (Roosters)
Nominees: Kezie Apps, Simaima Taufa, Millie Boyle, Isabelle Kelly

Coach of the Year - Todd Payten (Cowboys)
Nominees: Ivan Cleary, Todd Payten, Trent Robinson, Craig Fitzgibbon

NRLW Coach of the Year: John Strange (Roosters)
Nominees: Jamie Soward, John Strange, Dean Widders, Ron Griffiths

Provan Summons Medal (Spirit of the Game) - Nicho Hynes (Sharks, NRL) and Toni Hunt (Broncos, NRLW)

Peter Frilingos Award for Headline Moment - Queensland's against-the-odds Origin win & Jada Taylor's U19 Women's Origin try (tie)

Top Pointscorer - Valentine Holmes (Cowboys) - 224 points

Ken Irvine Award for Top Tryscorer - Alex Johnston (Rabbitohs) - 28 tries

NRL Team of the Year

Fullback: James Tedesco

Wingers: Alex Johnston & Joseph Suaali'i

Centres: Valentine Holmes & Joey Manu

Five-Eighth: Cameron Munster

Halfback: Nicho Hynes

Props: Payne Haas & Joe Tapine

Hooker: Api Koroisau

Second Rowers: Viliame Kikau & Jeremiah Nanai

Lock: Isaah Yeo

NRLW Team of the Year

Fullback: Sam Bremner

Wingers: Jaime Chapman & Teagan Berry

Centres: Jess Sergis & Isabelle Kelly

Five-Eighth: Tarryn Aiken

Halfback: Raecene McGregor

Props: Mille Boyle & Caitlan Johnston

Hooker: Keeley Davis

Second Rowers: Olivia Kernick & Keilee Joseph

Lock: Simaima Taufa