Annual Masters Rugby League
Tournament 2004

"The Masters of Rugby League, New Zealand will create Rugby League history at the St Mary's League Club in Sydney, Australia from 1 - 9 October 2004". St Mary's League Club are hosting the eleventh annual V.B. Masters of Rugby League Tournament, which is the only one of its kind in the world. Fifty Two (52) teams, 1200 players; 31 teams form New Zealand and 21 teams from all around Australia will be participate in the biggest Rugby League International Tournament. The concept of the tournament is based on three age groups which are 35-39 years, 40-49 years, and also 60-70 year old players who play with modified rules to suit their age group. After three days of competing, representative teams will be selected in each age group for a New Zealand vs Australia test match. As well as a number of past state and provincial players there are notable ex-international Rugby League greats putting their boots on in this years tournament including:

Kiwis - Keith Bell, Nolan Tupaea, Bill Kells, Bryan Tracey, Clayton Friend, Olsen Filipana, Mark Horo, Shane Horo, and Gary Freeman. Australia - Mark Geyer, John Cartwright, Tony Currie, Mario Fenich, and Artie Beetson. There will be 12 New Zealand referees and 19 Penrith referees also taking part.