Dragons name Charity Shield side

The St George Illawarra Dragons have named a 26-man sqaud for the annual Charity Shield clash against South Sydney on February 13th at ANZ Stadium.

Intrigue surrounds the performance of star back Mark Gasnier who, after completing his first NRL pre-season since returning from French rugby, will start in the centres.

New faces Peter Cronin, David Gower, Daniel Penese and former Sharks backrower Adam Cuthbertson are set to make their debut for the Red V.

Last year's fixture finished in a thrilling 26-all draw. The Dragons have won the Charity Shield 14 times since it's creation in 1982, while the Rabbitohs have triumphed on nine occasions.

1. Darius Boyd
2. Ratu Peni Tagive
3. Mark Gasnier
4. Matt Cooper
5. Jason Nightingale
6. Nathan Fien
7. Ben Hornby (c)
8. Dan Hunt
9. Cameron King
10. Michael Weyman
11. Beau Scott
12. Ben Creagh
13. Matt Prior

14. Michael Greenfield
15. Trent Merrin
16. Jake Marketo
16. Nick Emmett
18. Jack Bosden
19. Bronx Goodwin
20. Jon Green
21. David Gower
22. Daniel Penese
23. Adam Cuthbertson
24. Mitch Rein
25. Peter Cronin
26. Nathan Jones

LeagueUnlimited will be covering the Charity Shield LIVE on Sunday night from 7:00pm AEDST.