Knights name 17-man squad for Round 1

At the Hunter Ports Newcastle Knights season launch today, the team to play St George Illawarra at Hunter Stadium next Thursday was announced.

With less than a week before the Knights kick the 2012 NRL season off, coach Wayne Bennett confirmed his team, which includes the return of Danny Buderus and Timana Tahu along with the Knights debut of Adam Cuthbertson, Darius Boyd and Kade Snowden.

The team is:

1. Darius Boyd
2. James McManus
3. Wes Naiqama
4. Timana Tahu
5. Akuila Uate
6. Kurt Gidley
7. Jarrod Mullen
8. Kade Snowden
9. Danny Buderus
10. Adam Cuthbertson
11. Chris Houston
12. Zeb Taia
13. Neville Costigan

14. Matt Hilder
15. Richie Fa'aoso
16. Joel Edwards
17. Alex McKinnon