NRL Previews - Storm v Sea Eagles (Round 1)

12-03-2011 07:30PM at AAMI Park

Referees: Matt Cecchin and Gavin Reynolds
Touch Judges: Steve Chiddy and Gavin Atkins
Video Referee: Bernard Sutton

A genuine rivalry exists between these two clubs. They've faced each other in two recent Grand Finals, one recent semi final, and a number of other matches that have erupted with fists flying. Fingers crossed for more of the same. Although Melbourne's roster has changed significantly, their fire-breathing, fury spitting, anger filled coach will no doubt be on a mission to breathe fire, spit fury and fill his players with anger.

You can count on Des Hasler bringing much of the same intensity as two old foes meet again at AAMI Park on Saturday night. After all had settled down though, Cameron Smith will prove to be the best player on the field with a masterful display to get his side their first official premiership points in 5 years. It will be close though, with the winner decided in the final moments.

My Tip: Storm 17-16

The Teams

  Melbourne Storm    Manly Sea Eagles 
No Suspensions

R. Rochow
L. Kelly
R. Kostjasyn
B. Champion
S. Kite
1. Billy Slater Fullback 1. Brett Stewart
2. Matt Duffie Wing 2. Michael Robertson
3. Dane Nielsen Centre 3. Jamie Lyon
4. Chase Stanley Centre 4. Tony Williams
5. Anthony Quinn Wing 5. William Hopoate
6. Gareth Widdop Five Eighth 6. Kieran Foran
7. Cooper Cronk Halfback 7. Daly Cherry-Evans
8. Bryan Norrie Prop 8. Jason King
9. Cameron Smith Hooker 9. Matt Ballin
10. Jaiman Lowe Prop 10. Brent Kite
11. Adam Blair Second Row 11. Anthony Watmough
12. Sika Manu Second Row 12. Joe Galuvao
13. Ryan Hinchcliffe Lock 13. Brett Stewart
14. Todd Lowrie Interchange 14. Terence Seu Seu
15. Kevin Proctor Interchange 15. Jamie Buhrer
16. Troy Thompson Interchange 16. George Rose
17. Jesse Bromwich Interchange 17. Vic Mauro
S. Matai

D. Williams

Head to Head

2010 NRL - Round 22 Brookvale Oval Manly Sea Eagles 26-6
2010 NRL - Round 6 Etihad Stadium Manly Sea Eagles 18-16
2009 Finals - Week 1 Etihad Stadium, Melbourne Melbourne Storm 40-12
2009 Round 24 Olympic Park, Melbourne Manly Sea Eagles 20-16
2009 Round 8 Brookvale Oval Melbourne Storm 22-8

LeagueUnlimited Tipsters - Courtesy of

Other Games this Round