NSW Cup Grand Final Preview - Bulldogs v Wolves

Bulldogs vs Wolves
03-10-2010 12:00PM at ANZ Stadium

Referee: David Munro
Touch Judges: Nick Beashel and David Ryan

Broadcast: LIVE TV coverage on Channel 9 and Radio coverage on 2GB and ABC

The Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs look to make it back to back premierships in the NSW Cup when they take on the inform team of the final series, the Windsor Wolves.

The Wolves have looked ominous in the last two weeks, producing one of the greatest comebacks in Rugby League history to defeat the Newtown Jets with only 12 men and then held off a fast finishing Balmain Ryde-Eastwood team last weekend at Leichhardt Oval.

The Bulldogs scraped past a resilient Western Suburbs Magpies outfit last weekend after enjoying the previous week off. The Dogs looked shaky for a short period when Wests took the lead but the class of Nathan Smith, Daniel Harrison and co took over and the Dogs eventually closed things out 32-24.

The positive for Justin Hollbrook's men is the majority of his side has remained unchanged throughout season 2010 whereas Windsor experienced a rather interrupted mid-season with injuries in the Panther's backline.

Daine Laurie looks set to return for the Wolves after a one-week suspension while for the Dogs, Daniel Harrison has been promoted to the starting lineup for Corey Payne who returns to the bench. The battle of the backlines shapes as a real treat, both teams have three brilliant finishers with Trent Cutler, Heka Nanai and Junior Tia-Kilifi for the Dogs up against Zoram Watene, David Simmons and Sandor Earl from Windsor. The above combinations have combined for a total of 47 and 46 tries respectively so we should see some fireworks come midday Sunday.

The forwards battle isn't far behind with Laurie set to add some extra spice into a clash of titanic proportions. Windsor workhorses Aaron Sweeney, Steve Meredith and Josh Bateman come up against the speed, flair and skill of Tim Browne, Manly bound Daniel Harrison, Yileen Gordon and Corey Payne.

A number of Dogs will be handed one final chance in 2010 to impress Canterbury hierarchy as the likes of Michael Lett, Jonathon Wright and Grant Millington are all bound for the club in 2011 and with competition for spots likely to be fierce, a premiership medallion will look quite good in the selection room.

For the Wolves, Maurice Blair bounced back to form with an impressive display last week and would love to make his mark on the NSW Cup one final time before he departs for the Melbourne Storm in 2011.

We are set for a fitting end to what has been an outstanding season in the NSW Cup and with two of the more offensive minded teams in the competition doing battle, ANZ Stadium is set to explode come midday Sunday.

The Teams

  Canterbury Bulldogs    Windsor Wolves 
No Suspensions

No Injuries
1. Trent Cutler Fullback 1. Zoram Watene
2. Heka Nanai Wing 2. Dave Simmons
3. Shane Neumann Centre 3. Ryan Walker
4. Daniel Rauicava Centre 4. Michael Mate
5. Junior Tia-Kilifi Wing 5. Sandor Earl
6. Rhys Jack Five Eighth 6. Maurice Blair
7. Josh Reynolds Halfback 7. Craig Trindall
8. Brad Morrin Prop 8. Steve Meredith
9. Nathan Smith Hooker 9. Ryan Russell
10. Tim Browne Prop 10. Aaron Sweeney
11. Daniel Harrison Second Row 11. Joseph Paulo
12. Yileen Gordon Second Row 12. Nigel Plum
13. Danny Williams Lock 13. Josh Bateman
14. Corey Payne Interchange 14. Reece Goldsmith
15. Harlan Alaalatoa Interchange 15. Matthew McConnell
16. Conrad Ta'akimoeaka Interchange 16. David Tangata-Toa
17. Kose Lelei Interchange 17. Jesse Sene-efao
No Suspensions

No Injuries

  • Previous Meetings

    Round 5: Canterbury Bulldogs 30 Windsor Wolves 24
    The Crest Stadium

    Round 19: Canterbury Bulldogs 46 Windsor Wolves 12
    Windsor Sports Complex