Team of the 1950\'s announced

Three St George players are included in a rugby league Team of the 1950s announced at a lunch in Sydney today, with Reg Gasnier, Johnny Raper and Norm Provan reflecting the club's dominance in the latter part of that decade.

Gasnier and Raper, along with North Sydney's Ken Irvine, joined an illustrious group of players to be selected in successive Teams of the Decade following last year's selection in the Team of the 1960s.

Clive Churchill was a stand out selection at fullback while South Sydney great Greg Hawick pipped Brian Clay for the five-eighth position and Keith Holman was a unanimous choice as halfback.

Team of the 50s: CLIVE CHURCHILL (South Sydney) KEN IRVINE (North Sydney) REG GASNIER (St George) HARRY WELLS (South Sydney, Wollongong, Wests) BRIAN CARLSON (South Newcastle, Wollongong, North Sydney) GREG HAWICK (South Sydney, Wagga Kangaroos, North Sydney) KEITH HOLMAN (Wests) DUNCAN HALL (Brisbane Valleys, Home Hill, Newtown Toowoomba, Brisbane Wests) KEVIN SCHUBERT (Wollongong, Manly Warringah) ROY BULL (Manly Warringah) KEL O'SHEA (Ayr Colts, Wests) NORM PROVAN (St George) JOHNNY RAPER (Newtown, St George)

The judging panel included rugby league identities Don Furner, Ian Heads, Ron Massey, Bob Fulton, Terry Fearnley, Alan Clarkson, David Middleton, Ferris Ashton and Ken Arthurson.