Toyota Cup Wrap - Round 6

After Toyota Cup's Heritage Round saw a heap of blowouts, Round 6 was a whole different story with two drawn games and close matches across the weekend.

Eels 28 Bulldogs 26 (Friday 5:15pm)
On Friday night Parramatta raced to a 28-16 lead late in the match before the Bulldogs came rampaging back. Marmin Barba was a standout for the Eels before being sin-binned late in the game. The Eels managed to hold on in a fiery and frenetic finish to win 28-26.

Eels 28 (Cameron Breust, Marmin Barba, Vai Toutai, Chris Ulugia, Jason Whebe tries; Jason Whebe 4/5 goals) def Bulldogs 26 (Chris Centrone, Paul Carter, Gerrard McCallum, Lionel O'Mally, Cruise Iosefa tries; Aidan Sezer 3/5 goals) at ANZ Stadium. Referee: Ricky McFarlane

Titans 14 Tigers 14 (Friday 5:15pm)
The Gold Coast hosted the Tigers on Friday night as well, and both teams traded early blows to be locked at 10-10 at the halftime break. The Gold Coast hit the front with a little over 20 minutes remaining, but with 15 on the clock, the Tigers levelled the scores and it stayed 14-all until the fulltime siren. The Titans can consider themselves unlucky as their completion rate was far better than their opposition, but a failure to convert completions into points meant they were stuck with just 1 competition point from this clash.

Titans 14 (Sam Martin, Joe Mua, Shaun Carney tries; Jordan Rankin 1/3 goals) drew with Tigers 14 (Matt Evans, Curtis Sironen, Joel Luani tries' Curtis Sironen 1/3 goals) at Skilled Park. Referee: Nick Morrell.

Warriors 30 Sea Eagles 18 (Saturday 3:15pm)
The boys from across the ditch continued their strong form in Toyota Cup, taking a 16-10 lead to halftime against Manly at Brookvale. The reigning premiers were challenged in the early part of the second half before skipping away to a 30-18 victory. Konrad Hurrell nabbed a double for the visiting Warriors as they continue to hold a share of the competition lead with the Broncos, Cowboys and Storm - while the Sea Eagles remain near the foot of the ladder with just one win to their name.

Warriors 30 (Omar Slaimankhel, Konrad Hurrell, Dylan Collier, John Palavi, Konrad Hurrell, Sio Siua Taukeiaho tries; Dylan Collier 3/6 goals) def Sea Eagles 18 (Samiuela Kei, Tim Burrell, Josh Drinkwater, Mark Falaniko tries; Mark Falaniko 1/3, Josh Drinkwater 0/1 goals) at Brookvale Oval. Referee: Adam Gee

Broncos 32 Roosters 8 (Saturday 5:15pm)
The Roosters' venture up the F3 wasn't successful in either grade as their Toyota Cup side took a hiding from the ladder-leaders Brisbane on Saturday evening. Requiring a victory to stay on top going into the game, the Broncos made no bones about their stance, racing to a 20-4 halftime lead before going on with the job in the second half to win 32-8 - not an easy task in pouring rain, either.

Broncos 32 (Dane Gagai, Lachlan Maranta, Matthew Berwick, Kurt Baptiste, Cameron Cullen, Daniel Wallace tries; Mitchell Frei 4/6 goals) def Roosters 8 (Usaia O'Sullivan, Asiseli Fine tries; Ethan Lowe 0/2 goals) at Bluetongue Stadium, Gosford. Referee: Jon Stone.

Cowboys 42 Raiders 12 (Saturday 5:15pm)
The only true blowout of the weekend saw premiership favourites the Cowboys blow fellow contenders Canberra right off the park in Townsville, even if an earthquake earlier in the day had failed to. The home side raced the clock early to lead 22-0 after 23 minutes before taking a 28-0 halftime lead. A Michael Parker-Walshe hat-trick was a highlight for the Cowboys while Wayne Ulugia also nabbed a double. Two Raiders tries in the second half provided consolation but the Cowboys went on to secure a 30-point victory.

Cowboys 42 (Michael Parker Walshe 3, Wayne Ulugia 2, Sam Hoare, Moses Pangai, Alex Elisala tries; Kyle Feldt 5/8 goals) def Raiders 12 (Matthew Allwood, Edrick Lee tries; Nathan Massey 1/1, Chris Medcalf 1/1 goals) at Dairy Farmers Stadium. Referee: Peter Gough.

Sharks 42 Knights 30 (Sunday 11:45am)
A sunny Newcastle morning greeted the Knights and Sharks at Ausgrid Stadium (formerly EnergyAustralia Stadium) and both teams were hungry for points, neither paying much heed to defence. The lead continued to change hands throughout the first and again into the second half - before the Sharks added a bevy of points at the end of the game to win by 12 points.

Sharks 42 (Stewart Mills 3, Luke Pickerd 2, Cameron Rodgers, Penani Manumalealii, Sam Duggan tries; Ali Hijazi 3/7, Chad Townsend 2/2 goals) def Knights 30 (Will Smith 2, Chanel Mata'utia, Alai Taufaao, Maipele Morseau tries; Will Smith 5/5 goals) at Ausgrid Stadium. Referee: Gavin Morris.

Storm 26 Panthers 24 (Sunday 12:45pm)
Another close-fought contest on Sunday afternoon saw the Storm hold on by the skin of their teeth against a gallant Panthers outfit who clawed back a 16-12 halftime deficit to take a 24-22 lead into the final minute of play, only for a Storm try on the fulltime siren to finalise the 26-24 result to the visitors. Panthers' lock Blake Austin found himself in the sin bin at the 50th minute mark.

Storm 26 (Kirisome Auva'a, Kenneath Bromwich, Ryan Pooley, Benjamin Hampton, Edward Fa'amausili tries; Matt McGahan 3/5 goals) def Panthers 24 (Shaye Moran, Harry Siejka, Mitch Davis, Blake Austin tries; Harry Siejka 4/4 goals) at Centrebet Stadium Penrith. Referee: Luke Potter.

Rabbitohs 22 Dragons 22 (Monday 4:45pm)
The second draw of the weekend saw another see-sawing contest. The Dragons led 14-12 at the break before South Sydney took a 22-14 lead with around 20 minutes on the clock. Last gasp tries in the 74th and 80th minutes to the visitors gave Dragons' five-eighth Sam Clune the chance to win the match on fulltime, but his goal attempt swung wide and the final result ending in a 22-all stalemate.

Rabbitohs 22 (James Roberts 2, David Sisifa, Luke Haddrick tries; James Roberts 3/4 goals) drew with Dragons 22 (Ty Grout 2, Trent Ryan, Ben Musolino, Nathan Green tries; Sam Clune 1/5 goals) at ANZ Stadium. Referee: Luke Phillips
Ladder after Round 6:
1. Broncos 10
2. Warriors 10
3. Cowboys 10
4. Storm 10
5. Raiders 10
6. Sharks 10
7. Bulldogs 6
8. Knights 6
9. Rabbitohs 5
10. Roosters 5
11. Eels 4
12. Tigers 4
13. Panthers 4
14. Dragons 3
15. Sea Eagles 2
16. Titans 1