Junior Kiwis dominated by Warriors and Cowboys

NYC grand finalists the Vodafone Junior Warriors and North Queensland supply all but five of the Junior Kiwis' 18-man squad for their one-off international against the Junior Kangaroos at Ausgrid Stadium in Newcastle on October 16.

After winning the Toyota Cup for the second consecutive year on Sunday, the John Ackland-coached Warriors provide 10 players while the Cowboys have three including 18-year-old second rower Jason Taumalolo, one of three players in the squad with NRL experience.

Taumalolo has played for the Cowboys at first-grade level in the last two seasons while fellow back rower Josh Papalii has appeared for the Canberra Raiders this year and prop Ben Murdoch-Masila has turned out for Wests Tigers over the last two seasons.

Taumalolo is a survivor from the David Kidwell-coached Junior Kiwis' two-match campaign against the Junior Kangaroos last year while others returning are the Warriors' trio of Carlos Tuimavave, Sebastine Ikahihifo and Samiuela Lousi.

The other players selected from the champion Warriors side are fullback Omar Slaimankhel, winger Adam Henry, centre Sosaia Feki, hooker Siliva Havili, prop Agnatius Paasi, loose forward John Palavi and utility Sio Siua Taukeiaho. Captain Ben Henry was also a contender but wasn't available as he is getting married while two other Vodafone Junior Warriors - halfback Jordan Meads and utility George Maka - are among the players on standby.

Slaimankhel missed Sunday's 31-30 extra time win over the Cowboys but still finished the season's as the competition's top try scorer with 27 tries in 25 games. Three other players in the squad feature among the leading try-scorers. North Queensland standoff Michael Parker Walshe was second with 24, Henry eighth with 19 and North Queensland fullback Wayne Ulugia 13th with 17.

In last year's series the Junior Kiwis recovered from losing the first clash in Wellington by stunning the Australians in Rotorua when they converted a 0-20 halftime deficit into a 36-20 victory.

Of the players in the 2010 squad, Glen Fisiiahi (Warriors), Shaun Johnson (Warriors), Siuatonga Likiliki (Newcastle), Sam Mataora (Canberra), Kane Morgan (South Sydney), Nafe Seluini (Penrith), Lama Tasi (Sydney Roosters), Martin Taupau (Canterbury-Bankstown), Bill Tupou (Warriors) and Dean Whare (Manly) as well as Taumalolo have all made NRL appearances this year.

Kidwell, now Melbourne's NRL assistant coach, is again coaching the Junior Kiwis.

Kenneath Bromwich            Melbourne Storm
Sosaia Feki                       Warriors
Tohu Harris                       Melbourne Storm
Siliva Havili                       Warriors
Adam Henry                      Warriors
Sebastine Ikahihifo             Warriors
Samiuela Lousi                  Warriors
Ben Murdoch-Masila           Wests Tigers
Agnatius Paasi                  Warriors
John Palavi                       Warriors
Josh Papalii                      Canberra Raiders
Michael Parker-Walshe        North Queensland Cowboys
Andrew Pelasio                  Penrith Panthers
Omar Slaimankhel               Warriors
Sio Siua Taukeiaho             Warriors
Jason Taumalolo                 North Queensland Cowboys
Carlos Tuimavave               Warriors
Wayne Ulugia                     North Queensland Cowboys
Players on standby:
Jordan Meads                    Warriors
George Maka                     Warriors
John Koko                         North Queensland Cowboys
Tupou Sopoaga                  Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs