New format for Queensland under age competitions

New Format For Elite Cups

Queensland's premier under age competitions - the Mal Meninga and Cyril Connell Cups - are ready to launch next month under an exciting new format.

This year will see the competing sides divided into two conferences - a North Western Conference and a South Eastern Conference - each consisting of eight teams.

The four most northern teams - Northern Pride, Townsville Stingers, Mackay Cutters and CQ Capras - along with the Sunshine Coast, Central United, Ipswich and Toowoomba Clydesdales - make up the eight teams in the North Western Conference.

The remaining eight teams - Gold Coast Green, Wynnum Manly Seagulls, Easts Tigers, Norths Devils, Wests Panthers, Souths Logan Magpies, Gold Coast Gold and Redcliffe Dolphins - will be grouped together in the South Eastern Conference.

Other changes this year will see the: