NRL Match Previews - Bulldogs v Dragons (Round 10)

14-05-2010 07:35PM at ANZ Stadium

Referee: Tony Archer and Bernard Sutton
Touch Judges: Steve Chiddy and David Abood
Referee: Bill Harrigan

The Round 2 match between these rivals saw St George Illawarra dominate the Bulldogs with a superb defensive performance that stifled the Canterbury attack and held them to only one try. Watching the Bulldogs play over the past few weeks suggests they will need to be at their grinding, aggressive and stingy best to avoid a similar experience on Friday night. The Dragons are more than capable of suffocating a struggling Bulldogs' attack once again.

The proverbial choke hold will be applied to Brett Kimmorley and Michael Ennis in particular who could not find a way through the Parramatta defense two weeks ago and will be targeted again as the dogs' main attacking weapons. Based on this we can't go past the Dragons at ANZ as the inconsistency continues for the Belmore club this year. Once again the best matchup on the field involves Jamal Idris. This week he tests himself against arguably the best defender in his position in the NRL, Matt Cooper. Enjoy.

My Man of the Match Prediction: Ben Creagh
My Tip: Dragons 19-12

The Teams

  Canterbury Bulldogs               St George Illawarra Dragons 
No Suspensions

B. Roberts
B. Hannant
C. Payne
1. Luke PattenFullback1. Darius Boyd
2. Steve TurnerWing2. Brett Morris
3. Josh MorrisCentre3. Matt Prior
4. Jamal IdrisCentre4. Matt Cooper
5. Bryson GoodwinWing5. Jason Nightingale
6. Blake GreenFive Eighth6. Jamie Soward
7. Brett KimmorleyHalfback7. Ben Hornby
8. Chris ArmitProp8. Dan Hunt
9. Michael EnnisHooker9. Luke Priddis
10. Michael HodgsonProp10. Michael Weyman
11. Gary WarburtonSecond Row11. Neville Costigan
12. Andrew RyanSecond Row12. Ben Creagh
13. David StaggLock13. Dean Young
14. Mickey PaeaInterchange14. Jon Green
15. Dene HalatauInterchange15. Nick Emmett
16. Yileen GordonInterchange16. Trent Merrin
17. Ben BarbaInterchange17. Michael Greenfield
No Suspensions

J. Saffy
N. Fien
J. Smith
P. Tagive

Head to Head

2010 NRL - Round 2 WIN Stadium St George Illawarra Dragons 26-6
2009 Round 10 WIN Jubilee Stadium, Kogarah St George Illawarra Dragons 20-18
2008 Round 20 ANZ Stadium St George Illawarra Dragons 30-0
2008 Round 6 ANZ Stadium Canterbury Bulldogs 30-18
2007 Round 20 WIN Stadium Canterbury Bulldogs 28-24

LeagueUnlimited Tipsters - Courtesy of