NRL Match Previews - Canberra v St George Illawarra (Round 24)

22-08-2010 02:00PM at Canberra Stadium

Referee: Matt Cecchin and Tony De Las Heras
Touch Judges: Steve Carrall and Luke Potter
Referee: Tim Mander

The Dragons head down the Hume Highway in search of redemption for their loss in the corresponding match last year. Actually, they probably won't be thinking about that game too much but the fans will be. The Raiders played will an impressive ferocity that night and bashed the Dragons out of the game. Dean Young and Terry Campese also tried to bash the stuffing out of each other in a memorable encounter.  

Many thought, at the time, that Saints were vulnerable after this loss and that prediction proved to be correct. If the Dragons read any of this press, they will be motivated well enough to win this game in very cold conditions in our nations capital. If they don't, their defence will get them home anyway. A great battle between arguably the two toughest front rows you will see, and two of the NRL's best fullbacks on show. Awesome.

My Man of the Match Prediction: Darius Boyd
My Tip: St George Illawarra 20-8

The Teams

  Canberra Raiders               St George Illawarra Dragons 
No Suspensions

J. Thompson
C. Lasscock
T. Waddell
J. Miller
1. Josh DuganFullback1. Darius Boyd
2. Joel MonaghanWing2. Brett Morris
3. Jarrod CrokerCentre3. Mark Gasnier
4. Adam MoggCentre4. Matt Cooper
5. Daniel VidotWing5. Jason Nightingale
6. Terry CampeseFive Eighth6. Jamie Soward
7. Josh McCroneHalfback7. Ben Hornby
8. Tom Learoyd-LahrsProp8. Neville Costigan
9. Alan TongueHooker9. Dean Young
10. David ShillingtonProp10. Michael Weyman
11. Joe PickerSecond Row11. Beau Scott
12. Bronson HarrisonSecond Row12. Ben Creagh
13. Trevor ThurlingLock13. Jeremy Smith
14. Glen ButtrissInterchange14. Luke Priddis
15. Danny GaleaInterchange15. Trent Merrin
16. Dane TilseInterchange16. Matt Prior
17. Scott LoganInterchange17. Jarrod Saffy
No Suspensions

P. Tagive
D. Hunt

Head to Head

2010 NRL - Round 11 WIN Stadium, Wollongong Canberra Raiders 22-14
2009 Round 23 Canberra Stadium Canberra Raiders 24-12
2008 Round 18 WIN Stadium Canberra Raiders 19-12
2008 Round 3 Canberra Stadium Canberra Raiders 21-14
2007 Round 17 WIN Stadium St George Illawarra Dragons 58-16

LeagueUnlimited Tipsters - Courtesy of

(Justin Davies)


Total Score
(Kevin Brennan)


Total Score
Non Terminator
(Josh Hill)


Total Score
(Steve Williams)


Total Score
(Coby Delaney)


Total Score

Other Games this Round