NRL Match Previews - Melbourne Storm v St George Illawarra Dragons

02-04-2010 02:10PM at Etihad Stadium

Referee: Jared Maxwell and Gerard Sutton
Touch Judges: David Abood and Gavin Morris
Referee: Bill Harrigan

Game of the season at this early stage. The two best defensive teams in the competition so you know it will be uncompromising, aggressive, and close and if we are lucky - slightly violent. These teams do have a history of 'restless' behaviour: so let's hope Billy Slater and Jason Nightingale run into each other a few times, and perhaps Jeremy Smith can incite an altercation against his old club.

All the fun aside, Cooper Cronk will make a huge difference to the Storm, as he did last week, and will ignite their attack. His combination with Smith and Slater against a frigid Dragons defense will be like watching a heavyweight title fight. Ducking, weaving, jabbing, and trying different combinations to punch a hole in the opposition - it will be super entertaining. The Dragons defense holds out and they score enough points through Ben Creagh and an ever improving backline to win a close one.

My Man of the Match Prediction: Jeremy Smith
My Tip: Saints 19-18

The Teams

  Melbourne Storm               St George Illawarra Dragons 
No Suspensions

S. Manu
S. Kite
B. White
C. Stanley
1. Billy SlaterFullback1. Darius Boyd
2. Luke MacDougallWing2. Brett Morris
3. Dane NielsenCentre3. Beau Scott
4. Greg InglisCentre4. Matt Cooper
5. Anthony QuinnWing5. Jason Nightingale
6. Brett FinchFive Eighth6. Jamie Soward
7. Cooper CronkHalfback7. Ben Hornby
8. Aiden TolmanProp8. Matt Prior
9. Cameron SmithHooker9. Luke Priddis
10. Jeff LimaProp10. Michael Weyman
11. Adam BlairSecond Row11. Jeremy Smith
12. Kevin ProctorSecond Row12. Ben Creagh
13. Todd LowrieLock13. Dean Young
14. Ryan HinchcliffeInterchange14. Jon Green
15. Hep CahillInterchange15. Nick Emmett
16. Ryan TandyInterchange16. Dan Hunt
17. Jesse BromwichInterchange17. Jarrod Saffy
No Suspensions

N. Fien
N. Costigan
P. Tagive

Head to Head

2009 Round 21 WIN Jubilee Oval, Kogarah St George Illawarra Dragons 26-12
2009 Round 1 Olympic Park Stadium Melbourne Storm 17-16
2008 Round 19 Olympic Park, Melbourne Melbourne Storm 26-0
2008 Round 10 ANZ Stadium St George Illawarra Dragons 36-12

LeagueUnlimited Tipsters - Courtesy of

(Justin Davies)


Total Score
(Kevin Brennan)


Total Score
Non Terminator
(Josh Hill)


Total Score
(Coby Delaney)


Total Score
(Steve Williams)


Total Score

Other Games this Round