NRL Match Previews - South Sydney v Wests (Round 22)

07-08-2010 07:30PM at ANZ Stadium

Referee: Gavin Badger and Ashley Klein
Touch Judges: Daniel Eastwood and David Munro
Referee: Steve Clark

The imposing forward pack of the South Sydney Rabbitohs is no more. Injury to their most experienced front rower, their brightest star suspended and the broken collarbone of human wrecking ball Dave Taylor must be making John Lang feel a might unlucky. Last week, the Bulldogs smacked them all over the park and this week will be an even bigger test with the Tigers coming to Homebush. The Rabbitohs still have their spine intact but it will take a lot more than that to get them back on track.  

The Tigers, on the other hand, are basically at full strength and sitting in 4th place, enough to make them $1.55 favourites during the week. I won't be going against the bookies and neither will the 2005 premiers. Benji Marshall has one of those games we know he is capable of and his forwards exact revenge for a 40 point thrashing at the hands of Souths in round 10 this year. Robbie Farah v Isaac Luke a highlight.

My Man of the Match Prediction:Gareth Ellis
My Tip: Tigers 30-16

The Teams

  South Sydney Rabbitohs               Wests Tigers 
S. Burgess

B. Ross
S. Geddes
B. Falloon
M. Crocker
D. Taylor
L. Stuart
1. Rhys WesserFullback1. Wade McKinnon
2. Nathan MerrittWing2. Lote Tuqiri
3. Colin BestCentre3. Blake Ayshford
4. Beau ChampionCentre4. Chris Lawrence
5. Fetuli TalanoaWing5. Beau Ryan
6. John SuttonFive Eighth6. Benji Marshall
7. Chris SandowHalfback7. Robert Lui
8. Roy AsotasiProp8. Todd Payten
9. Issac LukeHooker9. Robbie Farah
10. Jaiman LoweProp10. Keith Galloway
11. Eddy PettybourneSecond Row11. Liam Fulton
12. Dave TyrellSecond Row12. Gareth Ellis
13. Ben LoweLock13. Chris Heighington
14. Garrett CrossmanInterchange14. Andrew Fifita
15. Craig StapletonInterchange15. Geoff Daniela
16. Shannan McPhersonInterchange16. Simon Dwyer
17. Jason ClarkInterchange17. Bryce Gibbs
No Suspensions

J. Cayless
T. Tuiaki
A. Woods
T. Moltzen
J. Moors
J. Mullaney

Head to Head

2010 NRL - Round 10 Sydney Cricket Ground South Sydney Rabbitohs 50-10
2009 Round 17 ANZ Stadium, Homebush Wests Tigers 54-20
2009 Round 10 Sydney Cricket Ground South Sydney Rabbitohs 23-22
2008 Round 19 ANZ Stadium Wests Tigers 36-12
2008 Round 6 Sydney Cricket Ground Wests Tigers 30-10

LeagueUnlimited Tipsters - Courtesy of

(Justin Davies)


Total Score
Non Terminator
(Josh Hill)


Total Score
(Kevin Brennan)


Total Score
(Coby Delaney)


Total Score
(Steve Williams)


Total Score

Other Games this Round