The Year of the Rooster

With Wednesday marking the beginning of the Chinese New Year, hopefully the Year of the Rooster will be one to remember come this October.

Chinese beliefs dictate people who were born in the Year of the Rooster (2005, 1993, 1981, 1969, 1957, 1945, 1933), to be hard working, resourceful, brave and talented ? qualities coach Ricky Stuart will expect from his squad in their quest to regain the NRL trophy this year.

The club last won the premiership in the Year of the Rooster in 1945 ? the only time it has achieved the feat.

However, with a new-look side set to take the field next month, 2005 looms as a great chance to repeat the dose.

Only two other clubs ? the Rabbitohs in 1927 and 1951, and the Dragons in 1964 ? have won the premiership in years corresponding to their emblem on the Chinese calendar.

Interestingly, the only first grade player to be born as a Rooster is Brett Finch, last year?s player of the year.

And if Finch can produce the form which saw him selected for NSW last year, perhaps the Year of the Rooster will be one to crow about.