Full Time
4:10pm Sun August 12, 2018
Round 22 - AAMI Park - Crowd: 16709

Match Overview

The Sharks have defended a 9 point half time lead against the Storm stoicly to achieve their second straight victory in Melbourne, finishing 17-14 winners at AAMI Park.

After a timid opening few minutes, the Sharks got on the board on the back of a penalty. Brailey scooted out of dummy half and reached out between three defenders to score on the left side of the posts. Holmes converted.

In the 22nd minute the Storm hit back when Chambers took on the defence before flicking the ball out the back to Vunivalu who ran in to score. Smith failed to convert from touch.

With three minutes left in the half, the Sharks spread the ball left where Feki got outside Vunivalu before throwing a miraculous hail mary pass back in-field before going into touch to Holmes, who took the ball and run around to score near the posts. He then converted his own try.

Just before the break, Townsend snapped a field goal to give the Sharks a 13-4 lead.

The Storm struck first shortly after the break when Munster put in a lovely grubber and Slater came around to clean up and score. Smith slotted the goal.

Both sides made big metres and played exciting and expansive footy, but failed to put together a good last tackle option.

In the 67th minute when Ramien took an intercept and ran 80 metres before being tackled by Addo-Carr. On the next play Dugan took the ball from dummy half and barged over for a try. Holmes failed to convert.

The Storm played hot potato as they needed two tries in the final ten minutes. In the 72nd minute, after refusing to die with the ball, the Storm managed to put Chambers on a run to the right corner before he offloaded to Vunivalu who backed up inside to score out wide. Smith failed to convert.

The Sharks defence denied the Storm two tries in the second half and did enough to win 17-14.

Melbourne remain at home this coming Friday when they host the 15th-placed Eels while the Sharks host the Cowboys next Saturday.

3. Chad Townsend

2. Valentine Holmes

1. Andrew Fifita