Full Time
6:00pm Fri July 31, 2020
Round 12 - Sydney Cricket Ground - Crowd: 1789

Match Overview

Warriors showed they aren't just here for numbers in a spirited 26-20 victory against the finals-chasing Tigers tonight at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Pre-game Todd Payten said the two new loanees - George Jennings and Daniel Alvaro - had plenty of information to take in, including the team song. Both men will belt it out loud and proud after a Peta Hiku double helped to inspire the Warriors to their fourth success of the season. 

After losing five players last weekend who headed back to New Zealand on compassionate grounds. This might be one of the more famous results in the clubs 25-year history and some sweet relief for interim coach Todd Payten. 

For the first quarter of the game, tonight looked like the cooldown after the emotional goodbye for the Warriors Tigers opened the scoring through Moses Mbye, quickly followed by a tip-toe effort from David Nofoaluma made it 8-nil. A big score loomed for the finals chasing Tigers. 

Warriors dug deep, Karl Lawton scooped and scored followed by a Kodi Nikorima penalty goal made it 8-8. Tigers took the lead headed into the break due to interchange forward Sam McIntyre showed some toe and it was 14-8 to the home side but coach Michael Maguire was not amused. 

Maguire had reasons to be bemused after Peta Hiku brushed the turf to make it 14-all. The veteran centre doubled up from a short-side play and kept his foot inside the touchline to hand the Warriors their first lead of the night. 

Sensing a special result could be on the cards. Tohu Harris stretched the advantage to a dozen after Tigers winger Tommy Talau spilled the ball right into the path of the chasing Warriors who sent the second-rower over the tryline. 

There was some late drama when a bullet Benji Marshall pass sent Talau over to make it 26-20 but the Tigers lacked the spirit to get themselves back into the contest. It might end up being a costly dropped game with the Tigers hovering around their traditional nineth position. 

3. Eliesa Katoa

2. Peta Hiku

1. Benji Marshall