First batch of Dally M Awards gongs given out

Embed from Getty Images

With the decision to spread the NRL's "night of nights" across two separate evenings, the first batch of awards have been presented on Monday night.

The second evening - next Monday 27 September - will form the bulk of the event, with team, coach, rookie and player of the year to all be awarded.

The awards presented on Monday 20 September included:

  • Ken Irvine Medal (Top Try Scorer): Alex Johnston (Rabbitohs)
  • Top Points Scorer: Reuben Garrick (Sea Eagles)
  • YOUI Tackle of the Year: Xavier Coates (Broncos)
  • DrinkWise Try of the Year: Tom Trbojevic (Sea Eagles)
  • VB Hardest Working Player of the Year: Isaiah Papali'i (Parramatta Eels)

The NRL also confirmed the nominees for Coach of the Year:

  • Craig Bellamy
  • Ivan Cleary
  • Wayne Bennett
  • Des Hasler
  • Trent Robinson 

And indeed the nominees for the Dally M Medal itself for Player of the Year:

  • Daly Cherry-Evans
  • Tom Trbojevic
  • Nathan Cleary
  • James Tedesco
  • Cody Walker

Check back next Monday for more Dally M Awards action.

Click here to view the full 2021 Club Awards list.